Further testing of Fairfax Media journalism intern prospects next week

Applicants for Fairfax Media journalism internships to undertake journalism studies next year have now been advised whether they are required to undertake further tests on Saturday, August 18.

Fairfax's editorial development manager, Clive Lind, said 94 applications had been received by the closing date of July 25 and the applications and clips loaded on to YouTube had been analysed.

From these, about half have been asked to undertake general knowledge, numeracy, spelling and grammar and writing exercises over two hours at venues in Auckland, Hamilton, Palmerston North, Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin.

He thanked all applicants for taking the time to apply. Fairfax staff had been particularly impressed by the flair and thought many had obviously put into developing their up-to-90-second YouTube clip and he congratulated them for their skills and initiative. This year was the first time applicants have been asked to do such a clip.

He urged those who had not been selected at this point to continue to aim for a career in journalism.  The Fairfax intern scheme could take only a comparative few interns each year and there would still be numerous journalistic opportunities.

Any applicants who had not received an advisory email should contact him urgently on clive.lind@fairfaxmedia.co.nz.

All journalism schools are now or will be shortly seeking applications. Representatives of participating journalism schools were:

University of Canterbury, Christchurch: Donald Matheson [donald.matheson@canterbury.ac.nz]

Aoraki Polytechnic, Dunedin:  Lea Jones  (lea.jones@aoraki.ac.nz]

Massey University, Wellington:  Grant Hannis (G.D.Hannis@massey.ac.nz; James Hollings [j.h.hollings@massey.ac.nz]

Waikato Institute of Technology (Wintec) Hamilton: Charles Riddle [charles.riddle@wintec.ac.nz].

AUT (Auckland University of Technology): Greg Treadwell (gregory.treadwe@aut.ac.nz) and Allan Lee (allan.lee@aut.ac.nz)

As well, other journalism schools welcome inquiries.

About Fairfax Media

Fairfax Media is an innovative, integrated multi-media business with strong brands across multiple platforms including newspapers, magazines and digital.

Fairfax Media has two national, nine daily and more than 60 community newspapers, 25+ magazines, and market leading website stuff.co.nz.

Click here (PDF 169.1KB) to see the company's full portfolio of media brands.

For further information, please contact:

Fairfax Media Communications and Marketing Manager
Nicola Igusa
09 925 9817 or 027 704 7521
email media@fairfaxmedia.co.nz

Click here to download  (PDF 47.1KB)